wherever you go, in every country, people are particularly proud of their drinking traditions. it was story in Estonia in Poland and even though Korea is an Asian culture it is not exclusion from the rule at all.
yesterday we had an opening party, that means that professors and students had dinner together and than went for further drinks in the bar.
Dinner was nearby our hasuk (the place i live here) but nevertheless i arrived there on Georgian time (merely known in Europe as Italian or Spanish time) :)))) students were already sitting around the table but professors haven't yet showed up by Korean traditions no one could have eaten before the professors arrived, so you could have imagined what i and my flatmates were thinking about them before they showed up after a half an hour :))))
than everything went smoothly, people started to drink soju ( kind of korean vodka made from rice , generally around20 %) one professor sat nearby us and was preparing mixes from soju and beer and at the same time organizing competitions between the nationalities.
generally there is big difference between drunk and sober Korean, because of Confucianism here people are really reserved in everyday life but when they get drunk alcohol makes them expressive and emotional. this rule appeals to everyone from normal student to head of the university.
another peculiarity is that generally they cant control how much to drink and consequently they throw up. yesterday there was a somekind of hystery (maybe competation)in throwing up ( ahahah) I even saw professors doing that .... ahahah was complete insane ...
party finished early around 12 pm , some of the students and professors went home , some were taken home ... i was standing in the street with bottle of beer still sober and thinking were should i have gone...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
So they can't really handle the alcohol amounts you are used to consume? Well let me tell you, that you are an extraordinary case in that sense. (remember the picture I have of you drinking that bottle of vodka in an instant in Estonia?)
take care dude, keep the stories coming!
Nobody can drink more than Dato !!!!!!!!! :)
hugs from Warsaw
Post a Comment